• Welcome to XOTIC PC Forums! If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Soldier needs some help here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soldier needs some help here.

Hello, i'm a soldier currently deployed to Iraq. My wife is going to order me a NP9262 in a day or two, so that I can play games while i'm out in this dirt hole lol. She is ordering me the following set up.

3.0ghz C2D cpu
    4 gigs DDR2 800
    1 8800M GTX
    200 gig 7200 RPM HD
    Windows vista 64x

I've always been a huge fan of building my own PC's, and I was wondering, I seen some posts on these forums about "Adding another 8800M GTX" and such and was wondering how it works with a laptop. Is it just like a PC where you put it in the slot, close the case and configure the Bios / install the right drivers and you're good to go. Or is it a bit more technical with a laptop?

I was just wondering about this, because it seems that would be a great way to add a lil more power to the laptop in the future without having to go out and get a brand new laptop.

Also, Newegg.com doesn't sell laptop GPU's from what I can tell. Where do you get laptop 8800M GTXs? LOL. Sorry for the newb questions.

Anywho, thanks in advance for your responses, I can't wait to get a hold of this machine. Give me something to do and help keep my mind off the normal day to day crud on my down time.

Thank you for serving in the military for our country

Laptop video card installation is very similar to desktop card installation.

Laptop video cards are only carried by certain laptop manufacturer's. You can purchase a second 8800 video card found in our accessories section on our website.

Comment